Lacunae

Back in January, my namesake, Joyce, introduced me to TinyLetter. I adored her enough to try almost everything she recommends so I signed up for it weeks later. At the time though, she said, “Mahirap kasi sa WordPress, everyone can see it.” I did not understand it– not right away. I rather thought I was okay with everyone seeing my online blather. It turns out, I’m not.  What I did not realize was that ‘everyone’ also included people I know and I’m more comfortable with virtual strangers glimpsing what messy emotions I share online.

I will occasionally post things here but I’m gearing towards sending letters to people who are willing to read my many emotions on paper.

So this is a way to limit my audience. At least I warned would-be subscribers what they’re signing up for.

Lacunae

ləˈk(y)o͞onə/
noun
plural noun: lacunae
  1. an unfilled space or interval; a gap.
    “the journal has filled a lacuna in Middle Eastern studies”
    • a missing portion in a book or manuscript.
    • Anatomy
      a cavity or depression, especially in bone.

    This was also partly inspired by Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. Lacuna Inc., was the name of the clinic that offers to erase the memory of a person you don’t want to remember anymore. To stop the grief, the hurt and to seemingly move on without impediments. I am at the point where I am willing to have my memory erased if there is indeed such a thing as Lacuna Inc. in reality. But at the moment, I could only afford to purge memories by writing them down. Or at least the emotions tied to the memories I have yet to replace.

    Maybe by writing them down, I could fill the gaps you left.

    **

One thought on “Lacunae

Leave a Reply

