Once Upon A Time, I loved and hated fairy tales

Over the weekend, my butt refused to leave the bed in front of our tv. If you had to make me choose between family gatherings and TV time, of course it’s TV time. I’m a crazy loner like that. Last Sunday, I made the fatal mistake of watching Once Upon A Time on Star World. It was a 10 hour marathon and I did show my face to my cousins who’ve just arrived from Guam to be fair.. for a total of 20 minutes. Ridiculous, I know, because I can always buy a DVD to watch it next time. Well, trust me to make the smartest decisions in life. I chose the marathon. Mistake, I say. Because I have a love-hate relationship with fairy tales.

How could I not love it? I grew up with it. It was when Disney movies were all on tape and you play it on a VCR. My cousin, N, has a complete collection of Disney fairy tales on VHS and Betamax. My mom and my cousin, E, made sure to give me books on my birthdays and Christmas. I probably knew more fairy tales than any grade schooler in my batch and can retell any of it by request. I was  the little show off. More than the Prince Charming, I am more fascinated with their dresses, the castles, forests, caves, mountains,meadows and the price everyone has to pay for magic. Subconsciously, I thought Disney Princes were lame and passive, except maybe, the Beast, Aladdin, and Prince Philip. Prince Charming arrives only when they’re done with their problems. Like Cinderella’s prince, come to take her away from poverty. Can’t he tell she’s a  gold digger? Snow White’s prince kissed her out of coma and she marries him, wimp. Prince Eric didn’t really save Ariel, her sea-creature friends did. Disney went as far as to change Andersen’s original tragic ending for the Little Mermaid. The miller’s daughter who didn’t deliver her promise to Rumpelstiltskin? Ingrate. The Princess and the Pea?  Downright, stupid. Red Riding Hood is either fatally myopic or really just dumb. Oops, I think I hate some of the Disney princesses too.  Oh well.

I didn’t have issues with it until I grew up and realized that there are no fairy god mothers in this world. And happy endings are bull.

My romantic heart is half wooden. One half is all gooey and mush because I’m a girl and I’m programmed to zero in on romance but the other half has a wrinkled face of its own. It scoffs and rolls its beady eyes at me because it refuses to believe that such things happen in reality.  I do appreciate fairy tales that have strong and clever characters. Here are some of my childhood favorites.

  • Snow White and Rose Red
  • Beautiful Vasilissa
  • Ricky, the Tuftyhead
  • Beauty and the Beast
  • Hansel and Gretel
  • The Brave Little Tailor
  • Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves
  • Black Bull of Norroway
  • Florinda and Yoringal
  • The Six Swans
  • Bluebeard

I’m gonna discuss some of my favorite classics in a different post.

Once Upon A Time centers on Emma Swan who gets the surprise of her life when Henry, the son she gave up 10 years ago, arrives on her doorstep. Returning the boy to his adoptive mother becomes complicated when Henry reveals a stunning theory to Emma. Everyone in Storybrooke, Maine is a fairytale character under a curse, and Emma – as the long-lost daughter of Snow White and Prince Charming – is the one who can save them all. The story unfolds; interweaving scenes of the drama in the sleepy New England town and the inhabitants’ past lives in the world of fairy tales. The timeless battle of good vs evil is ready to begin again. (IMDb)

The series hooked me because the back stories are just fantastic. They added dimensions and depth to the Disney characters I grew up with and had pieced together other stories wonderfully. I actually dig the back story more than the main plot where they have to break the curse in Storybrooke.

Here are some of the things I appreciate about the series:

  • Snow White fending for herself in the woods even if she had to be a highway thief. The Disney animation showed a frightened heroine rescued by the seven dwarfs. In OUAT, she met the dwarves only after she turned the Prince down.

  

      

  • The evil queen not buying the Huntsman’s shit that he cut out Snow’s heart. By magic, she figured out that it wasn’t Snow’s heart that the huntsman gave her.

  • Prince Charming is honor bound, to marry a princess from a neighboring kingdom to protect his identity and his peasant mother; as well as to deliver a promise to the king. And he’s a badass who can combat minions while holding a baby.

  • Rumpelstiltskin is Belle’s beast.

 

It kinda makes sense because Rumpelstiltskin’s shady deals and tricky contracts which results to absurd repercussions make him a beast.

 

  • Snow’s evil queen has real fucked up issues and not just because she’s envious of Snow White’s beauty.

  • Snow White and Prince Charming’s adventures and witty banter that ultimately led them to fall in love after their initial attraction. Not just because he kissed her out of coma.

  • The concept that magic always comes with a price.

  • Snow’s loving relationship with the Queen before she became evulz.

  • Snow White and Red Riding Hood’s friendship. It kinda resembles another fairy tale.

 

  • Maleficent is morally better than Snow’s evil queen. Isn’t this actress Pam, Eric’s progeny in True Blood?!

  • Snow’s Prince Charming is a dragon-slayer. Ooh, beware, Daenerys Targaryen. Lol

  • This parallelism.

  • Rumpelstiltskin’s morality pet is his son.

Too many things, huh? Yeah, I still don’t like Cinderella.

I’ve yet to watch episodes 11-22 but being a creature of spoilers that I am, I already know what will happen and how it will end. Some of it, anyway.

image

The gifs from this post is from this page.

**

18 thoughts on “Once Upon A Time, I loved and hated fairy tales

  1. I’m not a fan of fairy tales even as a kid because I thought they’re just for little girls. Cos yes, I was a boy growing up. And I still haven’t rediscovered fairy tales to this day. Shame. x

    1. Sorry. Been a fantasy fan forever. I’ve discovered high fantasy in GRRM but fairy tales are what I grew up with and the brunt of the stories I know would be magic and witches and talking animals. Lol

  2. I like Walt Disney’s musical movies. I like them for the songs, not the stories. All those princes are lame. ( Although I really like Beauty and the Beast )

  3. Do you know that Beauty and the Beast is my first ever movie that I watched at the cinema ? According to my Mom, that is. And that’s also my most watched Walt Disney cartoons, and yes, I used to sing all the songs there, but I’ve forgotten the lyrics now. I love Belle ! !

    1. The first movie that I watched in the cinema was Aladdin and I was with my dad. I kept singing A Whole New World with made up lyrics of a four year old girl. LOL

      I like Belle well enough🙂

  4. I like Aladin for the simple reason that Leah Salonga sang the songs there.

    Oh, I like Mulan too. Eddie Murphy as that li’l dragon was so funny ! ( I also liked him as Donkey in Shrek….. waaaaaaay hilarious ) Do you know that most of the time, Eddie Murphy ad libbed in both movies ? I thought the dragon was so funny when he brushed his teeth after he accidentally kissed someon’es butt in Mulan, lol. And in Shrek….. ” I’ll cook you some waffles” ! Loved that part, and it was ad libbed too !

    1. Leah Salonga sang in Mulan too!🙂

      It’s weird that I only got to appreciate Mulan when I saw it again last year. I didn’t find it funny when I watched it as a kid. As a young adult, I laughed so hard with Wu Shu’s and that little cricket’s antics!

      Where is Eddie Murphy these days?!

      1. Dunno…. making lousy movies, so I heard. But the guy is really a good comedian. He’s the star in Mulan and Shrek, IMO. I can’t watch my collection of WD movies anymore, They are all VHS. Mom wants to upgrade some of them to blu rays, but it’s so expensive. We’ve upgraded a lot, like Star Wars, and one of my most fav of all time, Independence Day. It’s great to watch it again on bluray.

        1. Lol, it is expensive. Better to download those movies or buy it on dvd. Me, I depend on our cable provider to run old movies in Disney channel, HBO and Star Movies. Ha ha.

  5. Nope.. Although they are similar..fairy tale and fable characters have been driven out of their world due to an evil adversary.. since you are a fun of wiki, you can check it out there..😀

  6. Hi Jishifruit, sorry about that, I thought I included the title of the graphic novel in my previous comments. It’s Fables. You can check FullyBooked’s website for the prices as well.🙂

Leave a Reply

